Surf ATL Community Spotlight: Emily McLarty

Surf ATL
3 min readApr 26, 2022

Every surfer has a story and this is the latest installment of our Surf ATL Community Spotlight series where we will feature surfers and those part of the surf culture in the Atlanta area. Check out our previous spotlights on Thomas Roginsky, Spencer Broome, Anthony Kennedy, Nick Bramwell, the Merlo Family, Mike Dobbs, Kristian Erik Bjerke, Jamie Eichler, Doug Paul, Brandon Spivia, Robert Hanson, Liam Spoon, Eric Ilustrisimo, Susan Bond, Jason Smith, Garrett Gilfillan, Silvia Saey, Scott Mennicke, Tammie Dalrymple, Wes Espinosa, Peter Gudbrandsen, Kelby Graham, Kayvon Nazarian, Abigail Pierce, Clark Campbell, Katy Harrison, Sam Burrafato, Maggie Maziarz, Erik Barron, Erin Keith, Jenny Serwitz, Adam Hunter, Joyce and Mack, Jackson Kearns, Jessica Luna, Tyler Urrutia, Mike Pappas, and Scott Stone.

Introduce yourself!

Hey Surf ATL! I’m Emily McLarty, I was born and raised in CT.

How did you get into surfing? In Atlanta or somewhere else?

I didn’t find my love for surfing until I was in college in Southern California. I met a group of college friends at a lifeguard chair on Point Zuma in Malibu shortly after I moved to the west coast, and I was completely mesmerized by the surf culture on that beach. By the end of the day, I had a borrowed longboard and I was practicing my pop-ups. I was hooked and so stoked to be a part of the surf community there!

I would take my board out early in the morning (with my new 3mm wetsuit) So-cal water is chilly year-round. It was the perfect way to get my blood flowing before classes.

Where and how often do you surf?

I’ve been living in Buckhead now for 17 years. I found my love for wake surfing on Lake Blue Ridge where I surf regularly. I love the feeling of surfing so close to the boat. The energy from the music and my friends makes me rip even stronger.

What is your favorite thing about surfing?

The best part of surfing is the power of the wall pushing you forward and the feeling of the rolls under your board.

Surfing isn’t about what kind of board you ride, or even how good you are…..it’s about how stoked you are at the end of the day!

Any surfers in the Atlanta or Georgia community who should be spotlighted?

I would like to nominate Brian Migaldi with SMG/One Wake and Chris Tuff for bios!

--

--

Surf ATL

Connect, grow, and foster the joy of riding waves. In Atlanta. http://surf-atl.com