Surf ATL Community Spotlight: Peter Gudbrandsen

Surf ATL
3 min readAug 20, 2021

Every surfer has a story and this is the latest installment of our Surf ATL Community Spotlight series where we will feature surfers and those part of the surf culture in the Atlanta area. Check out our previous spotlights on Thomas Roginsky, Spencer Broome, Anthony Kennedy, Nick Bramwell, the Merlo Family, Mike Dobbs, Kristian Erik Bjerke, Jamie Eichler, Doug Paul, Brandon Spivia, Robert Hanson, Liam Spoon, Eric Ilustrisimo, Susan Bond, Jason Smith, Garrett Gilfillan, Silvia Saey, Scott Mennicke, Tammie Dalrymple, and Wes Espinosa.

Introduce yourself!

I’m Peter Gudbrandsen. I grew up on Lake Allatoona in Woodstock, GA. I currently live in Clemson, SC where I am finishing up my degree and teaching watersports for a private club in my free time on Lake Keowee.

Do you ocean surf, wake surf, river surf, paddle surf? Any or all of the above?

I mostly wake surf, especially since that is what I teach most of the time. We just recently got a wake foil, so I have been grinding on that so we can offer foil instruction to our clients too. I ocean surf whenever I get the chance and the weather is permitting. Don't tell my parents but I may skip a class or two for some good ocean swells!

How did you get into surfing? In Atlanta or somewhere else?

I initially learned on Allatoona. I quickly fell in love with the sport and how it motivates me to better my skills every time I catch a wave.

What is your favorite thing about surfing?

I genuinely have fun teaching and creating an atmosphere on the water with our members and clients. It is the most rewarding job I have ever had the opportunity to take and being a part of other’s memories that will last a lifetime is truly something special. Teaching beginners to drop the rope for the first time to advanced surfers graduating from a 360 to a 360 shove it is an electrifying feeling.

What are your hopes for the Atlanta surfing community in the future?

I am super stoked to be a part of the ATL surf community. I would love to help promote and grow the community and hopefully, one day meet up with a group and get to know each other in person! Until then, Go Tigers. Cheers!

--

--

Surf ATL

Connect, grow, and foster the joy of riding waves. In Atlanta. http://surf-atl.com