Surf ATL Community Spotlight: Thomas Roginsky

Surf ATL
2 min readApr 8, 2021

This is the first installment of our Surf ATL Community Spotlight series where we will feature surfers and those part of the surf culture in the Atlanta area.

If you love riding waves or know someone who does, message us via one of our social media channels or reach out via the contact page on our website. It doesn’t matter your skill level or if you are a wake surfer, ocean surfer, paddleboarder, or river surfer. We want to put the spotlight on you!

Introduce yourself!
I’m Thomas Roginsky. I’m 26 years old, and a Cobb County native.

How did you get into surfing in Atlanta?
I’ve been surfing for about 10 years now. When my family bought their first wakeboard boat, the boat salesman is the one who introduced us to surfing and I’ve been doing it ever since! Recently I’ve started hydrofoiling and that’s a whole new feeling gliding above the water like that!

Where do you surf?
I’m usually on Lake Allatoona or Lake Nottely.

What do you do to advance your surfing?
I do a lot of practice on the weekends during the summer. That’s usually the only time I get to wake surf, but usually, it’s almost all day Saturday & part of the day Sunday that I get to surf or teach people how to surf.

What are your hopes for the Atlanta surfing community in the future?
Surfing is a great unifier and a phenomenal way to relax! It teaches new coordination skills and a way to take a break to just ride some waves. I think these are things that many people not just Atlanta folks need in their life.

Any surfers in the Atlanta or Georgia community catch your eye?
I’m a part of Wakelife Church, which is a Christ-centered group of people who love watersports and Jesus. We meet up almost every Wednesday throughout the year but during the late spring through late summer we’re on Lake Allatoona wake surfing & boarding!

--

--

Surf ATL

Connect, grow, and foster the joy of riding waves. In Atlanta. http://surf-atl.com